<u>3rd Meeting of the Open Working Group on SDGs (22-24 May 2013)</u>

CO-CHAIRS' MEETINGS WITH MAJOR GROUPS & OTHER STAKEHOLDERS - PARTICIPATION SUMMARY -

In order to capture concrete SDG proposals and recommendations from a broad range of stakeholders, the OWG co-chairs decided to convene meetings with representatives from Major Groups and other stakeholders from 9:00 to 10:00 each morning of the OWG sessions. The co-chairs agreed to the following format one week prior to the meeting. Each daily morning meetings is organized around thematic clusters that correspond to the organization of work of the open working group for that day. The session starts with two panellists who present the results of broad and wide consultations and research conducted around the world on specific topics followed by as many interventions from the floor as time allow.

To facilitate the process, the Major Group Programme asked interested Major Groups and other stakeholders, including the post 2015 communities and those listed in para 43 of the Rio+20 Outcome document, to form open steering committees for each day to decide on the two panellists and compile and rank speakers wishing to speak from the floor. The steering committees also reviewed the panellists' presentations and speakers' interventions in advance so as to avoid redundancies and focus inputs to the intergovernmental process. During the morning meetings, participants used open seating and presenters spoke on behalf of their organizations or their major groups sectors.

Despite the short notice, several representatives not typically involved in the Major Groups structure were able to participate and contribute. We more preparation time, we will increase the outreach for the fourth Open Working Group hearings to be held from 17-19 June.

Wednesday 22 May – Food and Agriculture

Steering committee:

- 1. Mr. Thomas Forster, NGO Food and Agriculture Cluster
- 2. Ms. Debra Jones, Save The Children / Beyond 2015 Coalition
- 3. Ms. Ivana Savic, Major Group for Children and Youth
- 4. Ms. Saba Loftus, Major Group for Children and Youth
- 5. Ms. Sascha Gabizon, Women in Europe for a Common Future Presentations from:
 - 1. Ms. Norma Maldonado, Tierra Verde Guatemala (as WECF)
- 2. Ms. Naiara Costa, World Society for the Protection of Animals Interventions from:
 - 1. Ms. Debra Jones, Save The Children / Beyond 2015 Coalition
 - 2. Ms. Natalia Federighi de Cuello, Yara International [agriculture private sector]
 - 3. Mr. Hans Herren, Biovision
 - 4. Mr. Aashish Khullar, Major Group for Children and Youth
 - 5. Ms. Fatima Rodrigo, NGO Subcommittee on the Eradication of Poverty in Food Security
 - 6. Mr. Andrew Davis, Delegation of Catalonia to the United States (for nrg4SD)
 - 7. Ms. Christina Diez, ATD Fourth World International Movement
 - 8. IRELAND

Thursday 23 May – Land, Drought, and Desertification

Steering committee:

- 1. Ms. Sascha Gabizon, Women in Europe for a Common Future
- 2. Ms. Eleanor Blomstrom, Women's Environment and Development Organization
- 3. Ms. Simone Lovera, Global Forest Coalition
- 4. Mr. Robert Wheeler, Global Ecovillage Network
- 5. Mr. Jeffrey Huffines, CIVICUS
- 6. Ms. Sandra Nelson Zongo Akiwa, YEWMBA

Presentations from:

- 1. Ms. Simone Lovera, Global Forest Coalition (for WECF)
- 2. Mr. Sameer Dossani, ActionAid International

Interventions from:

- 1. Ms. Lucy Mulenkei, Indigenous Peoples Information Center
- 2. Ms. Jane Lingbawan, IBON International
- 3. Mr. Arjan van Houwelingen, World Society for the Protection of Animals
- 4. Ms. Vicky Tauli-Corpus, Tebtebba
- 5. Mr. Robert Wheeler, Global Ecovillage Network

Friday 24 May – Water and Sanitation

Steering committee:

- 1. Ms. Sandra Nelson Zongo Akiwa, YEWMBA
- 2. Mr. Matt Simonds, International Trade Union Confederation
- 3. Ms. Jennifer Williams, End Water Poverty
- 4. Mr. Jonathan Rich, WaterAid

5. Ms. Darcey O'Callaghan, Food & Water Watch

Presentations from:

- 1. Ms. Darcey O'Callaghan, Food & Water Watch
- 2. Ms. Sarah Dobsevage, WaterAid

Interventions from:

- 1. Ms. Olimar Maisonet-Guzman, Major Group for Children and Youth
- 2. Ms. Sascha Gabizon, Women International for a Common Future
- 3. Ms. Orsolya Bartha, International Disability Alliance
- 4. Ms. Lori Johnston, Southeast Indigenous Peoples' Centre
- 5. Ms. Amenda Liance, Franciscans International
- 6. Mr. Jack Moss, Aquafed [water private sector]
- 7. Mr. Adaam Ole Mwarabu, indigenous Tanzanian "Masai"
- 8. Ms. Aliye Celik, United Cities and Local Governments
- 9. Ms. Kathleen Rice, UNANIMA International